Under 21 DUI – Zero Tolerance Laws in Michigan

Our DUI defense attorneys can answer your questions with straight talk and honest advice about your DUI arrest for a reasonable fee. Considering the potential penalties for a DUI conviction, it is extremely important to retain our experienced DUI defense attorneys. Call today!

The State of Michigan has what is called “zero tolerance” for minors (under the age of 21) driving a vehicle. The law provides that any blood alcohol content (.02 or more). The statute provides for a non-jailable misdemeanor for a first-time offender with a possible 360 hours of community service and a fine of not more than $250. The penalties for a second-time offender are a maximum possible jail penalty of 93 days, 60 days community service, and a $500 fine. The statute also precludes plea bargaining any of the other listed OWI offenses downward to zero tolerance.

Actions for Drivers Under Age 21:

Zero Tolerance (under age 21)
First Offense
Up to $250 fine and/or
Up to 360 hours of community service.
Driver license is restricted for 30 days.
Four points on driver record.
$500 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 consecutive years.
Second Offense within seven years:
Up to $500 fine and/or
Up to 60 days community service.
Up to 93 days in jail.
Driver license suspension 90 days. Any prior drunk driving conviction results in a minimum one-year driver license revocation.
Four points on driver record.
$500 Driver Responsibility Fee for two consecutive years.
Person Under 21 purchase/consume/possess alcohol:
First offense-$100 fine, no action is taken against driver license.
Second offense-$200 fine, driver license is suspended for 30 days/restricted for 60 days.
Third offense-$500 fine, driver license is suspended for 60 days/restricted for 305 days.
Community service may be required.
Alcohol screening may be required.
Person Under 21 transport or possess in a motor vehicle:
Up to a $100 fine.
First offense-no action is taken against driver license.
Second offense-driver license is suspended for 30 days/restricted for 60 days.
Third offense-driver license is suspended for 60 days/restricted for 305 days.
Alcohol screening may be required.
Community service may be required.
Two points on driver record.
Vehicle can be impounded up to 30 days.
Use Fraudulent ID to Purchase Liquor
Up to a $100 fine, 93 days in jail, or both.
90-day driver license suspension.
Alcohol screening may be required.

When you need a Grand Rapids DUI Defense Attorney, remember to call Krupp Law Offices PC for fast honest advice about your criminal problems and get honest advice about your options. Krupp Law Offices represents clients in cases throughout West Michigan, including the cities of Grand Rapids, Big Rapids, Ionia, Grand Haven, Stanton, Greenville, Wayland, Allegan, Holland, Newaygo, White Cloud, Fremont, Coopersville, Hastings, Middleville, Wyoming, and Rockford, including Kent County, Ottawa County, Newaygo County, Ionia County, Mecosta County, Barry County, Montcalm County, and Allegan County, Michigan.

Call for a free phone consultation. Our office can help.

KRUPP LAW OFFICES PC
161 Ottawa NW Suite 404
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
616-459-6636 or mail@krupplaw.com

Keywords: Grand Rapids DUI Attorney, DUI Lawyer Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids DUI Lawyer, Grand Rapids DUI lawyers, DUI Attorney Grand Rapids MI, Drunk Driving Attorney Grand Rapids, DUI Attorney Grand Rapids, DUI Attorneys Grand Rapids, DWI Lawyer Grand Rapids, DWI Lawyer in Grand Rapids, Ottawa DUI Lawyer, DWI Attorney Grand Rapids MI, DWI Lawyer in Grand Rapids

OTHER DUI TOPICS:

Share this: